The school where William Wilberforce was tutored is still standing and now a museum……
On the south-side of Hull’s handsome Trinity Square, at right angles to the wonderful Holy Trinity Church is the Old Grammar School. A seat of education was founded here in 1486 but the current building was built in 1578, on the orders of thrice-Hull mayor Alderman William Gee.
Between then and 1875 – when it was bought by the church and used as a choir school – it tutored all the great and good (and better off) of the city, including such luminaries as Major General Thomas Perronet Thompson, who was a reformer, MP and governor general of Sierra Leone and his friend William Wilberforce, who became quite the scourge of the slavery industry.
The Old Grammar school is now home to the fabulous Hands On History museum which offers visitors the chance to experience life in Hull over the centuries and also has, somewhat obliquely, an Egyptian exhibition featuring a genuine 2,600 year-old mummy.
Opening times for the museum are limited, check here for details
Click here to find accommodation in near Hull.